Our Lady of Sorrows

The Feast of Our Lady of Sorrows commemorates the extreme sorrow that the Blessed Virgin Mary experienced during the life, passion, and death of Jesus Christ.

This feast day is September 15.

The Seven Sorrows Devotion

There is a traditional Catholic devotion related to the seven sorrows of Mary:

  • The prophesy of Simeon at the presentation of Jesus in Jerusalem
  • The flight into Egypt to escape Herod
  • Losing Jesus in the temple in Jesusalem when he was an adolescent
  • Seeing Jesus as he carried his cross
  • The death by crucifixion of Jesus Christ
  • Taking the body of Jesus down from the cross
  • The burial of Jesus in the tomb

After meditating on each sorrow, seven Hail Mary’s are said.

The seven graces for this devotion, which were revealed to St. Bridget by the Blessed Virgin Mary, are

  1. I will grant peace to their families.
  2. They will be enlightened about the divine mysteries.
  3. I will console them in their pains and I will accompany them in their work.
  4. I will give them as much as they ask for as long as it does not oppose the adorable will of my divine Son or the sanctification of their souls.
  5. I will defend them in their spiritual battles with the infernal enemy and I will protect them at every instant of their lives.
  6. I will visibly help them at the moment of their death, they will see the face of their Mother.
  7. I have obtained from my divine Son, that those who propagate this devotion to my tears and dolors, will be taken directly from this earthly life to eternal happiness since all their sins will be forgiven and my Son and I will be their eternal consolation and joy.

Daily Mass Readings for the Memorial of Our Lady of Sorrows

The Gospel for this memorial is proper (required). The first reading may be taken from the weekday or the reading found below. The sequence is optional.

  • First ReadingHebrews 5:7-9: “Son though he was, he learned obedience from what he suffered; and when he was made perfect, he became the source of eternal salvation for all who obey him.”
  • Responsorial PsalmPsalm 31: “Save me, O Lord, in your kindness.”
  • Sequence Stabat Mater: “At the cross her station keeping, stood the mournful Mother weeping, close to Jesus to the last.”
  • Gospel John 19:25-27: “Standing by the cross of Jesus were his mother and his mother’s sister, Mary the wife of Clopas, and Mary Magdalene.”
  • Alternate GospelLuke 2:33-35: “You yourself a sword will pierce so that the thoughts of many hearts may be revealed.”

Get Behind Me Satan – A Lesson Plan on Avoiding Pain

Mary knew that saying yes to God was an act of love. She also understood that love involves sacrifice. This lesson plan discusses why we must accept that the Christian life is not a life free of pain. This is an appropriate reflection for the Feast of Our Lady of Sorrows.

How Can We Be Closer to Mary?

Fr. Mark-Mary has some great suggestions. Mary mothered Jesus. He wants us to share in that relationship with his mother. He wants to live through us, and that includes having the relationships he had.

Why Do Catholics Have Devotions to Mary?

This lesson plan explains the Catholic practice of devotions and prayers for Our Blessed Mother and the saints. This will help youth understand why we have a feast for Our Lady of Sorrows.

Why Our Lady of Sorrows?

Our Lady of Sorrows tells us that Mary did not escape pain in her life. The message here is that we trust in God’s presence, even in the most difficult times in our lives.

Frequently Asked Questions






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *